Uber is no longer limiting rides to addresses, and people can now directly set friends’ locations as their destination. The feature requires access to phone contacts, and will use GPS coordinates to figure out where to go.
When using ‘Uber to a person’, a request will be sent to the destination person to share his or her location through the app. Of course, this allows people to decline in the event that they don’t want to be found; but Uber is marketing this feature as something friends might use when trying to meet up before going somewhere else.
The catch here is that the GPS will not track the movement of the person trying to be reached. In other words, it uses a static GPS destination and assumes that the person at the end will hang around until the ride is over. To make the wait more bearable, Uber will also share the ETA of the ride with the person at the destination.
A second update introduces Snapchat integration with the Uber app. Linking the two apps will unlock new filters for Snapchat, and allow Uber users to send a picture as part of a ETA notification. There’s nothing particularly outstanding here, just more options for people to take temporary pictures of themselves while riding in an Uber.
[Source: Uber Newsroom]