While Uber is a great way to help users go from one place to another, some people are still concerned about whether it’s safe to hop into a stranger’s car. Which is why, the company has just introduced a new safety feature to allow users to track where their family members are in real-time when they are riding with Uber
Called Trip Tracker, the feature is part of Family Profiles that was introduced just last week. When someone under your Family Profile takes a ride with Uber, Trip Tracker will automatically give you a notification, and allow you to follow the ride on the map in real time, allowing you to see the route they are taking and when they arrive at their destination.
To use Trip Tracker, you must have the latest version of the Uber app. The feature is only available for Family Profiles, whereby up to 10 users can share a single payment method. After that, when anyone in the profile takes a ride with Uber, the family organiser will automatically be notified with their trip details. Of course, at the end of the trip, the ride will be billed to the organiser, and both users will receive a copy of the receipt.