When Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg was caught deleting sent messages, it became a much requested feature for everyone else using Facebook’s Messenger. And it looks like the feature will finally begin rolling out, even if only to certain countries first.
Known officially as “Remove for Everyone,” the feature will first roll out for users in Colombia, Bolivia, Lithuania and Poland. TechCrunch reports that Facebook plans to have the feature roll out to the rest of the world as soon as possible.
Using the feature will first give you the choice of either removing the message on your own side of a conversation, or for everyone else. Though doing the latter requires that you take action within 10 minutes of the initial sending. When something is removed, a mark is left to clearly indicate so, with the text “You removed a message.”
It’s also reported that there will be more features added to Facebook Messenger that’s similar to this one. Among them i s a thread expiration feature, where messages are deleted after a set amount of time. This is for when you actually want messages to be deleted in the future and not when they are sent by accident. Though it remains to be seen what will a feature like this be used for.