YouTube is now allowing people to send messages directly to each other through the desktop site. The feature was introduced to the mobile app last year to allow people to share videos more easily, something that is of questionable use on a PC.
A new icon will appear on the top right corner of the page, inserted between YouTube Apps and Notifications. Clicking on it will pop up a list of videos shared with other people. Users can also use this pop up to add contacts to message in the future.
The Share option under videos is also expanded, introducing a list of contacts that can be directly messaged. It should be extremely clear that this really is intended to allow people to keep sharing videos with each other.
We’re not sure how useful this feature is going to be, but it’s there for people who want to watch YouTube together – while not actually being in the same room.