Google is now rolling out its new sharing feature that was first unveiled at its Google I/O 2017 event. Announced last month, the update uses machine learning to identify photos, and encourage you to share them using various methods – suggested sharing, and Shared Libraries.
When you receive the update, you will see a new tab located at the bottom of the app. Suggested sharing is located at the top, whereby Google will try to identify all the people in those photos, and then recommend that you share it with them. Once shared, Google will remind them to add their photos to the album too, so organising pictures from your recent vacation for example, has just gotten a lot easier.
Shared Libraries allow you to share an entire album with anyone you want. For example, if you wish to share all your children’s pictures with your spouse, just give them access to pictures with the kid in it. You can customise this feature to only allow them to see limited photos, or grant them access from a certain date forward.
The update should be available now across Google Photos for Android, iOS, and the web.
(Source: Google Blog)