For those of you who used to privately sync your phone’s photo album to Facebook, you might want to back it up now. The social networking company recently announced that these photos would be deleted by 7 July 2016.
Don’t be too upset though, in the announcement, Facebook says that these photos have been moved to its new Moments app, so if you wish to continue having these photos saved, you must download and log into Moments before the deadline.
If you do not wish to use Moments, Facebook has an option for you to download these photos with just a click of a button. Just visit your profile, click on “Photos”, and head onto the “Synced from Phone” tab. From there, you will see a message from Facebook prompting you to “Get Moments to Keep Your Synced Photos”. You can either download your synced photos, or delete them permanently before Facebook does it on 7 July 2016.
Facebook’s “sync from phone” option was introduced back in 2012. Once you turn it, Facebook will automatically sync pictures from your phone into a private folder. All images will remain private until you select to share it out with your friends. This feature was removed from the Facebook app in December last year and it looks like the company is finally using it to force users to use its new Moments app.