Google has recently updated its Terms of Service, where from November 11 2013, the company will be allowed to use your name and photo as part of advertisements appearing in its products. This feature will be introduced as what will be known as “Shared Endorsements”.
The new “Shared Endorsements” update will allow Google to use a Google+ user’s name, profile photo, and recent activities as part of a Google ad. Shared Endorsements can be seen as a next-generation of targeted ads, where your friends will now be able to see what you shared/recommended/reviewed/did online.
Thankfully, Google’s made it easy to opt out of it by simply unchecking the checkbox to disable Shared Endorsements for your G+ account in the Shared Endorsements Settings page. “Your friends won’t benefit from your recommendations,” as Google puts it, but some things are probably more important…such as your online privacy.